Champions League Table & Groups

Take a look below at the outlook of each of the Champions League groups from this season’s competition with the updated tables.

The start of any Champions League season is always exciting, with the group stage being the true kick-off of the competition. Take a look below to see the updated standings of each of the Champions League groups from this season’s competition. You can also find the Champions League fixtures and Champions League top scorers here.

Champions League Group Standings

Champions League Table Format

The group stages is where the Champions League really gets underway. Five qualifying rounds precede the groups in the Champions League, but it is at this stage where the big boys enter the competition through their league position in the previous season.

32 teams are divided into eight groups of four in a round-robin system that sees each team face each other twice, once at home and once away. The two teams that finish the group stages with the highest number of points will progress into the knockout stages, while the team in third heads to the Europa League. The team that finishes bottom of the group will see their European campaign come to an end.

If one or more teams are level on points at the end of the group stages the position will be determined by the team’s head-to-head record. If this is even, it will then go to goal difference. The criteria can extend all the way to disciplinary records and UEFA club coefficients if the records are completely identical.

Teams are seeded into four pots prior to the Champions League group stage draw; Pot 1, Pot 2, Pot 3 and Pot 4. Pot 1 is made up of the winners of the previous season’s Champions League and Europa League winners, as well as the winners of the top six associations based on their UEFA coefficients. The Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1 winners are staples in this pot.

The remaining three pots will be determined solely by UEFA coefficient, with the top eight remaining teams entering Pot 2, the next eight entering Pot 3 and the bottom eight on coefficient go into Pot 4. Teams from the same association can’t be drawn into the same group and can’t face each other in the knockout stage until the quarter-finals.

Champions League Winners

  • 1992/93 – Marseille
  • 1993/94 – Milan
  • 1994/95 – Ajax
  • 1995/96 – Juventus
  • 1996/97 – Borussia Dortmund
  • 1997/98 – Real Madrid
  • 1998/99 – Manchester United
  • 1999/00 – Real Madrid
  • 2000/01 – Bayern Munich
  • 2001/02 – Real Madrid
  • 2002/03 – Milan
  • 2003/04 – Porto
  • 2004/05 – Liverpool
  • 2005/06 – Barcelona
  • 2006/07 – Milan
  • 2007/08 – Manchester United
  • 2008/09 – Barcelona
  • 2009/10 – Inter Milan
  • 2010/11 – Barcelona
  • 2011/12 – Chelsea
  • 2012/13 – Bayern Munich
  • 2013/14 – Real Madrid
  • 2014/15 – Barcelona
  • 2015/16 – Real Madrid
  • 2016/17 – Real Madrid
  • 2017/18 – Real Madrid
  • 2018/19 – Liverpool
  • 2019/20 – Bayern Munich
  • 2020/21 – Chelsea
  • 2021/22 – Real Madrid