La Liga Table, Standings & Form Guide

Keep up to date with everything La Liga below. Our dedicated page features the updated league table, upcoming fixtures and previous results, as well as the league’s top goalscorer.

La Liga is the top soccer division in Spain and most well known globally for hosting Real Madrid and Barcelona. They are two of 20 clubs that compete annually in the division for the honour of being called champions of Spain.

Be sure to regularly come back to this page to find the updated La Liga table and standings. You can also find the upcoming La Liga fixtures and the La Liga top scorers charts from this season.

We encourage those with a keen interest in La Liga to regularly return to this page to keep up to date with all goings on from Spain’s premier soccer division.

La Liga Table

La Liga Table Format

There are a total of 20 teams that compete in La Liga each season, all of which play each other twice, once at home and once away. Over the course of the season their position in the league table will be determined by the number of points that they accumulate over 38 games.

Teams are awarded points based on their results in each individual match that they play. They get three points for a win, one for a draw and none for a defeat. The winner of the league will be determined by which team has the highest number of points by the end of the season, while the three teams that are relegated are those who have accumulated the lowest number of points.

Those relegated teams are then replaced by the three promoted teams from the Segunda Division, which is the second tier of Spanish football. The Segunda Division is contested by 22 different teams, with the top two earning promotion to La Liga automatically, while the third promotion place is decided by a play-off.

Over the course of the La Liga season there are seven different European places up for grabs. The teams that finish in the top four positions will qualify for the following season’s Champions League group stages. The team that finishes fifth in the league will qualify for the following season’s Europa League group stages, while the team that finishes sixth will qualify for the following season’s Europa Conference League play-off round. The remaining European place in the Europa League group stages will be awarded to the winners of the Copa Del Rey, but if they have finished in the top five places of the league the position will be passed down to the next highest non-European finishing team.

La Liga Winners Since 2000

  • 1999/00 – Deportivo La Coruña
  • 2000/01 – Real Madrid
  • 2001/02 – Valencia
  • 2002/03 – Real Madrid
  • 2003/04 – Valencia
  • 2004/05 – Barcelona
  • 2005/06 – Barcelona
  • 2006/07 – Real Madrid
  • 2007/08 – Real Madrid
  • 2008/09 – Barcelona
  • 2009/10 – Barcelona
  • 2010/11 – Barcelona
  • 2011/12 – Real Madrid
  • 2012/13 – Barcelona
  • 2013/14 – Atletico Madrid
  • 2014/15 – Barcelona
  • 2015/16 – Barcelona
  • 2016/17 – Real Madrid
  • 2017/18 – Barcelona
  • 2018/19 – Barcelona
  • 2019/20 – Real Madrid
  • 2020/21 – Atletico Madrid
  • 2021/22 – Real Madrid